Table of Contents (Second Edition)

This book looks at some of the things involved in designing great learning experiences:

Chapter 1: Where Do We Start?

If learning is a journey, what’s the gap between where they are and where they need to be? Sometimes that gap is knowledge, but just as often the gap can be skills, motivation, habit, or environment.

Chapter 2: Who Are Your Learners?

Your learners see the world differently than you do, and to design effective learning experiences you need to understand their view of the world.

Chapter 3: What’s the Goal?

The best learning experiences are designed with a clear destination in mind. Learn how to determine your destination with accuracy.

Chapter 4: How Do We Remember?

Learn about how the brain works to focus on and retain information.

Chapter 5: How Do You Get Their Attention?

Learn strategies for getting past the distractions and helping your learners focus their attention.

Chapter 6: Design for Knowledge

The most common type of learning experience focuses on teaching knowledge. Learn strategies to make this as effective as possible.

Chapter 7: Design for Skills

Skills require practice. Learn strategies for helping your learners get the practice they need to develop those skills.

Chapter 8: Design for Motivation

If you’ve ever heard a learner say the words “I know, but…” then you are probably dealing not with a knowledge gap but with a motivation gap. Learn strategies for getting your learners to not only learn more but also do more.

Chapter 9: Design for Habits

Sometimes the gap isn’t knowledge or skill or even motivation, but is rather a question of habits.

Chapter 10: Design for Social and Informal Learning

When is formal learning not the answer? Learn about social and informal learning options.

Chapter 11: Design for Environment

Sometimes it’s better to fix the environment rather than the learner.

Chapter 12: Designing Evaluation

After you build a learning experience, how do you know whether it works? Learn ways to evaluate and assess learning.

Chapter 13: Conclusion